You are here: Home / Graduate / Placement


The Department of Philosophy has an excellent record of placing its students in major colleges and universities.  The entire faculty is committed to the successful placement of every student in the program.  This is facilitated by the , who organizes placement workshops, arranges for mock interviews and works closely with students to put together a compelling CV and dossier.

It is important that students recognize that successful placement is a matter of professional development throughout the course of graduate education, and not just at its end.  The department’s interest in its alumni does not cease when they have found their first position; it endeavors to stay in touch with them and is prepared to offer further assistance in the advancement of their careers.

Notable past graduates of the Penn State Philosophy Ph.D. Program:

Robert Pippin at the University of Chicago
Iris Marion Young at the University of Chicago (deceased)
Cindy Willet at Emory University
Todd May at Clemson University.
Shannon Winnubst at Ohio State University
David Roochnik, Chair of Philosophy at Boston University
Drew Hyland, Charles A. Dana Professor of Philosophy, Trinity College (Hartford, CT)
Jacob Howland, McFarlin Professor of Philosophy at The University of Tulsa
Charles Griswold, Borden Parker Bowne Professor of Philosophy, Boston University
William Desmond, Professor of Philosophy, Katholieck Universiteit Leuven, Institute of Philosophy

For a more detailed placement record, please contact Eduardo Mendieta, Placement Officer, 2016-2017.

Recent Placements

The following is a summary of the placement record for the Penn State Philosophy Doctoral Program, from 2017 to 2005 (reverse chronological order).


Initial Placement

Current Position

Alex Feldman Wesleyan University (Visiting Assistant Professor)
Claire Griffin Carleton College (Visiting Assistant Professor)
Aminah Hasan Furman University (tenure-track)
Axelle Karera Wesleyan University (Visiting Assistant Professor) Wesleyan University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Lindsey Stewart Wellesley College (Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow) University of Memphis (tenure-track)
Ryan Pollock Grand Valley State (3 year Visiting Assistant Professor)
André Rosenbaum de Avillez Del Mar College (tenure-track)
Ronke Oke West Chester University (tenure-track)
Shaheen Moosa North Central College (tenure-track)
Deniz Durmuz John Carroll University (tenure-track)
Jamiliah Shorter Georgia College and State University (tenure-track)
David Johnson Boston College (tenure-track)
Camisha Russell Colorado College (Postdoctoral Fellow) University of Oregon (tenure-track)
Stephanie Jenkins Oregon State University (tenure-track)
Toby Svoboda Fairfield University (tenure-track)
Jesse Bailey Sacred Heart University (tenure-track)
Michael Shleeter Pacific Lutheran University (tenure-track)
Mariana Alessandri University of Texas Pan American (tenure-track)
Alex Stehn University of Texas Pan American (tenure-track)
Michael Brownstein New Jersey Institute of Technology (tenure-track)
Masato Ishida University of Hawaii at Manoa (tenure-track) University of Hawaii at Manoa (Associate Professor)
Julia Levin Saint Francis (tenure-track)
Kyle Grady Rhodes College (tenure-track) Freedom Preparatory Academy
Omer Aygun Galatasaray University – Istanbul, Turkey (tenure-track)
Michael Deere Salem State University (tenure-track)
Christopher Lauer University of Hawaii at Hilo (tenure-track)
Bryan Lueck Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville (tenure-track) Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville (Associate Professor)
Brian Armstrong Georgia Regents University (tenure-track)
Leigh Johnson Rhodes College (tenure-track)
Melanie Shepherd Misericordia University (tenure-track)
Amy Wendling Creighton University (tenure-track)
Cory Wimberly University of Texas Pan American (tenure-track)
Kirsten Jacobson University of Maine at Orono (tenure-track) University of Maine at Orono (Associate Professor)
Hua Henry Wang Georgia College and State University (tenure-track)
Ryan Drake Fairfield University (tenure-track)
William Roberts McGill University (tenure-track, Political Science)
David O’Hara Augustana College (tenure-track) Augustana College (Associate Professor)
Hasana Sharp McGill University (tenure-track) McGill University (Associate Professor)
Lara Trout University of Portland (tenure-track)